A New Year ~ Starting fresh towards a Healthier Me!

Christmas has come and gone.  What a wonderful time of celebration it was with family and friends.  The food was wonderful and the turkey is a gift that keeps on giving.  Turkey sandwiches, turkey casserole, turkey stew, have all been a part of our eating plan over the last few days in our house.

Homemade cookies, desserts and chocolates have also been part of the celebrations.  I, confess that I did indulge in some of the goodies offered, but did well, considering, the array of sugared treats I had to choose from.

As the year comes to a close, I have time to examine my eating habits over the course of the year and assess how I did, and where I can improve next year.  I am looking forward to a clean slate and as always will make the New Year’s resolution to be a “healthier” me and to “exercise” more.  The key is to keep on track, and stay motivated to attain my goals. I can’t allow the stresses in life, to derail me, which they have at times this year.

2015 brings a fresh start, new hope, and a promise for a healthier me.   I will be keeping myself accountable through this blog and will keep encouraging all those who strive to be healthy on the inside and outside as well.

I know I shared a parody before Christmas, but here is another one for your enjoyment.  I know it’s not a month after Christmas…but it’s never too late to start focusing on making those tight clothes loose again.  Enjoy!

Twas the month after Christmas,

and all through the house,

Nothing would fit me,

not even a blouse.

The cookies I’d nibbled,

the eggnog I’d taste,

At the holiday parties,

had gone to my waist.

When I got on the scales,

there arose such a number!

When I walked to the store,

(less a walk than a lumber).

I’d remember the marvelous,

meals I’d prepared;

The gravies and sauces,

and beef nicely rared,

The wine and the rum balls,

the bread and the cheese,

And the way I’d never said,

“No, thank you, please.”

As I dressed myself,

in my husband’s old shirt,

And prepared once again,

to do battle with dirt,

I said to myself,

as I only can

“You can spend a winter

disguised as a man!”

So-away with the last,

of the sour cream dip,

Get rid of the fruit cake,

every cracker and chip.

Every last bit of food,

that I like must be banished

Till all the additional,

ounces have vanished.

I won’t have a cookie,

not even a lick.

I’ll want only to chew,

on a long celery stick.

I won’t have hot biscuits,,

or corn bread, or pie,

I’ll munch on a carrot,

and quietly cry.

I’m hungry, I’m lonesome,

and life is a bore-

But isn’t that what,

January is for?

Unable to giggle,

no longer a riot.

Happy New Year to all,

and to all a good diet! (Anonymous)

Leave a comment