Olive oil ~ Cold pressed or extra light?

There are a variety of different oils out on the market today and it’s hard to keep all of them straight. To make life easier I just try to stick with Olive Oil because I know that it’s quite healthy.

However, while I was out shopping I came across an Olive oil labelled extra light. I decided to pick up a bottle and give it a try. My normal go to oil is 100% cold pressed extra virgin olive oil.

I wasn’t expecting much difference in flavor or texture, but to my surprise when I opened it up it was much lighter in color and when I tasted the salad it was refreshingly light tasting. The strong flavor that I normally taste was not evident and allowed the flavors of the lettuce and veggies to shine through.

Not knowing why there was such a difference I decided to do some research. This is what I found. Cold pressed means that there was no heat or chemical additives used in the process of squeezing the oil out of the olives. Extra virgin means it’s the juice from the first pressing of the olives. The extra light olive oil means that they mix different grades of olive oil together.

Based on the research I will still stick with the cold pressed extra virgin olive oil, but will continue to use the new olive oil I discovered for salads.

If you put oil and vinegar on your salad what oil do you use? Have you discovered a light tasting oil you enjoy better in a salad? I’d love to have your feedback on your oil of choice.

Leave a Reply

