Dusting off my bike!

Image

The weather has started to warm up and the snow is all gone from the roads.  The trails are a little wet still, but all signs are pointing to summer.  That means, it’s time to dust of my bike and get it ready for some serious trail riding.

Friends have asked me why I love biking so much.  It’s hard to reply with one answer.  There are so many reasons that biking has become a joy for me.  It reminds me of my childhood.  I’d spend hours riding around the block, with the wind blowing through my hair and the warmth of the sun beaming on me.  It is freedom, adventure, exploring new territory, going to places you can’t go to on the main road.   It’s a time to enjoy nature with the family and pack picnic lunches and eat in the middle of a meadow or near a river bank.   It’s creating memories, meeting like-minded bikers who share stories of their biking adventures.  It’s exercise that’s fun and doesn’t require much motivation to do it.  There are so many other reasons why I like it but that’s enough for now….

Biking is a great way to keep fit.  It tones your leg muscles and builds up your stamina.  It’s heart-healthy and  you burn up to about 300 calories per hour (or more depending on weight, speed, difficulty of trail etc.)!

Please note, I am not a thin person yet, but have managed to get comfortable on a bike.  With proper biking gear (proper cycling shorts & gloves, gel seat, good fitting helmet and sunglasses with foam around the frames to keep bugs/dirt from getting into my eyes) it is possible to enjoy cycling for long periods of time.

Now to get working on the garage…my bike is calling me 😀

Leave a Reply

