Back from March Break!

 

The kids were off of school and it was time to take a break from daily routine and life.  We booked some time away at a little Bavarian village called Frankenmuth, located in Michigan USA.  We’d never been there before, and we fell in love with it when we arrived.

I have to confess that the meals were not “healthy” or “diet” friendly.  It was one of those cases where you were surrounded by high fat calorie foods.  Salads were obscure on the menu.  Eating healthy was going to be tough.  My best bet was to watch my portion intake, and try to get some extra exercise in at the hotel fitness room.  I have to say my husband and sons on the other hand were delighted.  It was a meat lover’s paradise!!

I’m back home now and am up a few pounds.  I wasn’t surprised as the food was so vastly different from what I normally eat.  I tried to grab fruit and veggies when available and managed to do additional exercise in the fitness room. 

Overall, I am happy that I was dedicated to staying focused in the midst of great temptation, and am not sure how I could have done things differently on this trip.  If anyone has any nuggets of information on how they manage to stay on top of their healthy weight loss goals, while vacationing, I’d love to hear them.

Back home and happy to settle down to routine again.

Leave a Reply

