Love is in the Air…

Everywhere I look around, Valentine’s is fast approaching and it is a day devoted to LOVE! It’s such a great day to show my spouse, parents, kids, other family members and friends how much I appreciate and love them.

It’s also a time when I can look inwardly and see how I’ve been treating “ME”.  I mean, have I really been kind and loving to myself?  Have I acknowledged the successes and accomplishments I’m making toward a healthier, thinner, me?

Unfortunately, there are days when I have looked in the mirror and allowed negative words to tear me apart.  I make a mental list of all the things I am doing wrong.  I get impatient and weary.  There are days when doubt takes over and I’m not too hopeful about meeting my goal weight.  And there are days when I just want to give up.

At my Wedding, the Love Chapter of 1 Corinthians 13 was read.  Here is an excerpt:

 Love is patient, love is kind… It does not dishonor others…it is not easily angered; it keeps no record of wrongs… It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.”

Those are powerful words!  They are a reminder I need to be kinder to me.  Love and accept who I am today, appreciate the efforts that I am making to improve myself. They are a reminder that when I slip up I don’t need to get impatient and grow weary.  It reminds me to change negative self-talk to positive self-talk.

So on Valentine’s Day when I’m spreading some love around, I’m going to throw some my way and be a little kinder and a little more loving.  I would encourage you to do the same thing too!  

 

 

Leave a Reply

