Facing Reality!

Have you ever looked into the mirror and wondered who that person was staring back at you? That was me about a year ago.   What the mirror revealed was an image of myself I didn’t like.  My body was  distorted by layers of fat that just looked ugly.  I didn’t like what I saw and quickly moved away from the mirror and carried on with my day.   I knew I needed to change, but how?  I’d been down the diet road so many times before, only to gain the weight back.  I felt discouraged, but had to face reality.  I decided that I would clean out the pantry, bring in the healthy food and take up exercising.  

My husband encouraged me to start bike riding again.  I used to love cycling as a kid, but wondered how I would manage with all the extra weight.  I agreed to give it a try.  At this point, I had nothing to lose.  I needed to make a change in my life and I knew I needed to start somewhere.  Taking the handle bars in my hands and resting my feet on the pedals, I looked straight ahead and started to move.  This was the beginning of starting on a path to a healthier me!

2 thoughts on “Facing Reality!

  1. For me, it’s not so much the mirrors as photographs of myself. When I’m fully clothed, I usually don’t think I look all that big, but if anyone shows me a picture of myself? Ugh, that’s just horrible.

    It’s great that you’ve started cycling again though! If you like your exercise, you’re much more likely to stick with it.

    Like

    • Annie, thanks for your reply! I’m not a big fan of seeing myself in photos either. If I have to get my picture taken I try to hide behind someone or stand tall and suck my stomach in 😉 I am enjoying cycling and so far it’s keeping me motivated!

      Like

Leave a Reply

